AWS Certification Learning Paths You Should Know About

AWS Certification Path

AWS Certification Path confirms the expertise in the cloud to support the professionals to learn the skills and grow knowledge in the technology. The organizations are also enormously benefited by AWS certification to create dominant teams for cloud-related initiatives with AWS. After seeking the AWS course, you should choose from the various certification exams to prove your knowledge and expertise.

The AWS certification exams are developed to make individuals and teams allowed to reach their unique goals. In this blog, I will explore the role-based certification exams for the developers, architect, cloud practitioner, and operation roles and the specific AWS certification path.

Available AWS Certifications

  • Professional
  • Associate
  • Foundational
  • Specialty

Exams Available for AWS Certification

The exams for the learners associated with AWS certification are:

  1. AWS Certified Cloud Practitioner
  2. AWS Certified Solutions Architect - Associate
  3. AWS Certified Developer - Associate
  4. AWS Certified SysOps Administrator - Associate
  5. AWS Certified Solutions Architect - Professional
  6. AWS Certified DevOps Engineer - Professional
  7. AWS Certified Security - Specialty
  8. AWS Certified Big Data - Specialty
  9. AWS Certified Advanced Networking - Specialty
  10. AWS Certified Machine Learning - Specialty
  11. AWS Certified Alexa Skill Builder - Specialty
  12. AWS Certified Database - Specialty

It is a two-year exhaustive experience with the designing, training, troubleshooting, and solution integration by using AWS Cloud. In the professional part, AWS has the certifications of Solution Architect, DevOps Engineer.


This is a one-year experience in solving problems and implementing solutions for many uncertain grounds. In the part of the Associate certification, certification of Solution Architect, SysOps Administrator, and Developer are included.


This provides the necessary knowledge in AWS along with Cloud and industry-driven experience. In the primary segment, the certification of a Cloud Practitioner is available.


Technical AWS Cloud experience in Specialty domain as specified in the exam guide of the certification exam. The part of Specialty includes the certification of Advanced Networking, Big Data, Security, Machine Learning, and Alexa Skill Builder.

Brief About AWS Certification

Exam Preparation Resources:

To seem in the AWS Certification exam, proper knowledge and the hands-on experience is needed on the topics associated with it. All the AWS products and the services are involved in it. I explore the resources which can play a crucial role in making you prepared for the exam.

The preparation of the AWS certification involves four stages:

  • Foundational
  • Associate
  • Professional
  • Specialty

AWS Certification Benefits

Along with the validation of the technical skills, the AWS certification exam will aid you in becoming an expert. After finishing the course and cracking the AWS certification, you will be suitable for all future opportunities from the giant firms of the industry.

The benefits of the AWS certification encompass:

Digital Badges:

It will help you to describe the progression of your certification on social media and professional profiles to get way to the AWS sponsored event of certifications.

AWS Exam Discount:

You will be able to obtain a 50% discount voucher to reapply for the certification or other exams.

Event Recognition:

You will get an invitation to the regional recognition receptions where you can use your digital badge and getaway to the Lounges at AWS events.

AWS Global Community:

There is an AWS certified community and network which you will have way to after being AWS certified.

AWS Practice Exams:

To prepare yourself for the actual exam and evaluate your skills, you will be able to appear in the free practice exams.

AWS Certified Store:

You will be able to unlock the particular AWS certified merchandise.

AWS Recertification:

The validity of the AWS certification is three years. To keep the status of your AWS certification, you need to demonstrate your expertise through a periodical process called recertification. It aids in strengthening the value of your AWS certification and portrays your latest credentials on AWS skills, knowledge, and best practices.

The Process to Get Recertified

Like the certification exam, recertification also covers four categories. Let’s take a look at the types.

Foundational-level certification: Here, you have to understand two steps which include:

  • Cloud Practitioner exam: To recertify, you can retake the AWS Certified Cloud Practitioner exam. Receive the benefit of a 50% discount and get recertified to apply for any prospective certification exams.
  • Get an associate or professional exam: Satisfy the necessary for recertification by making the associate-level or professional-level certification exam.

The features are the same as the foundational-level recertification for the associate-level Certification, professional-level, and specialty recertification.

Featured Learning Paths

The AWS certification paths are featured and classified into five sections.

Let’s explore the categories for a better understanding.

Cloud Practitioner:

This appropriate learning path is meant for the individuals who are interested in building and proving their overall knowledge of the AWS Cloud with the foundational and advanced Cloud practitioner exam. This path is determined to be very beneficial for all individuals in managerial, technical, buying, sales, and financial roles, which are associated with the AWS Cloud.


Architects learning path is designed for solution design engineers, solution architects, people who need to learn the designing methods, applications, and different systems on AWS. With this education path, you will be able to develop technical skills to progress successfully along the way of AWS certification. The optional course of Architecting on AWS Accelerator is involved in the path. This is a four and half a day program that covers two other sequences in these paths, Advanced Architecting on AWS and Architecting on AWS.


This learning path is intended for software developers who have the willingness to learn the way of developing cloud applications on AWS. You can make up the technical skills here in this path, as well as your progress along with the method of AWS certification.


Operation is the third learning path that is intended for system admins, sysops admins, DevOps developers who are interested in learning the process of creating automatable and repeatable applications’ deployment, networks, and other systems on the platform of AWS. Enhance your technical skills with this path toward the AWS certification.

DevOps Engineer:

This is another path for the learners who require to learn the process of developing common DevOps patterns, deployment of the same, and support of the applications in the AWS Cloud. Get guidance from the technical path to pave your way towards AWS certification.


In conclusion, preparing the AWS certification is of high value for beginners that want to get started with AWS. It will force you to learn the basics, and it helps focus on the most critical topics for your field. However, also, when going into jobs where AWS is needed, it is essential to have hands-on experience in this particular IT domain.



Get the Medium app

A button that says 'Download on the App Store', and if clicked it will lead you to the iOS App store
A button that says 'Get it on, Google Play', and if clicked it will lead you to the Google Play store
Amaaira Johns

Amaaira Johns

Highly experienced in Cloud and Computing with a strong marketing and sales background. Certified VMware professional with 10 years of business experience.